top of page

Spicy Ahi

Spicy ahi is my favorite food. I shudder to think of all the mercury I've eaten, but what's an ahi lover to do? Being from Hawai'i, I am very picky about my poke (pronounced pok-eh). I haven't eaten anything in California or on the East Coast that even comes close to Hawai'i poke, so I prefer to make my own.





Below is an outline but adjust to your taste, I usually start here and adjust as needed. I know it *sounds* like a lot of mayonnaise but I promise the taste isn't overwhelming. Though if you hate mayo, I'd leave it out.


Ingredients:

1 pound of sashimi grade ahi, diced

2 green onion stalks, sliced (green and white parts)

3 tablespoons of mayonnaise

2 tablespoons of sriracha

2 tablespoons of tobiko

1/2 tsp of hawaiian sea salt

1/2 tsp of sesame oil

1/2 tsp of chili oil (I prefer La Yu brand)

Dash of soy sauce to taste


Directions:

1. Dice sashimi grade ahi and green onion.

2. To the ahi add mayonnaise, sriracha, sea salt, sesame oil, and chili oil then mix

3. Mix in tobiko and green onions

4. Add dash of soy sauce

5. Taste your spicy ahi and adjust seasonings

Comments


bottom of page