top of page

Instant Pot Healthier "Refried" Beans


The best refried black beans I have ever had were at Platano in Berkeley, CA. I would give almost anything for that recipe. Since I can't have that, I decided to make my own black beans without lard and without the hours of soaking and cooking.


Ingredients

1 medium yellow onion, minced

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 tsp of cumin

1 bay leaf

2 cups of black beans

4 cups of water

Salt and pepper to taste

Olive oil


Directions

1. Put Instant Pot on sautee, add enough olive oil to coat the bottom of the pan. Add onions and garlic, sautee until translucent. Add cumin and bay leaf to the onions and allow spices to "bloom"

2. Turn sautee feature off. Add black beans, 4 cups of water, and salt to the pot.

3. Put the lid on, set the instant pot to the beans/chili setting for 45 minutes.

4. Allow the instant pot to naturally release

5. Drain the beans, reserve the liquid

6. In a food processor add the bean mixture, 1 tbsp of olive oil, and 1 cup of reserved liquid. Blend for 1 minute or until combined. I have a smaller food processor so I had to blend in 2 batches.

Enjoy immediately or freeze for later!


Comments


bottom of page